Junior Golf: Custom Clubs For Slower Swing Speeds

imageIn this Friday Flop Shot we are going to take a look at my clubs, the clubs Adam custom-made for me. When Adam went home to Australia for a month over the Christmas break, he had 6 sets of clubs to customize and I am thrilled that he included my clubs in that group.

Why are my clubs of interest to your junior golfer? There are a couple of major reasons: first-my swing speed is about 10mph lower than S3’s. His swing is 105-110mph and mine is 93-97mph. There is a dramatic contrast in our clubs. My son is a college athlete in great physical shape, quite strong, extremely flexible and a 2-handicap. For being north of 60 years old, I am in great physical shape, reasonably strong, quite flexible and expect to get back to regularly breaking 80 in the near future. (Offcoursegolf.com)

The difference in our swing speeds is important, but only 1 of many factors involved in making custom clubs. So the second reason my clubs are important to your young golfer is to show the dramatic contrast in clubs with 2 different people. Please understand my point here. Having golf clubs custom-fitted to your youngster is a very complicated task and requires the best PGA club fitter you can find. Ask around. Probably 1 or 2 names will come up more than once.

I had quit hitting my driver because there wasn’t 1 in our many golf clubs that felt good in my hands. Adam, after being with me on the range several times and playing a couple of rounds with me, had a definitive plan. The new length would be 44.75” with a men’s regular shaft and a weight and kick point that fits my swing. Here you see the Fujikura Speeder67 Evolution R-Flex shaft. The head would be my current, but unused, Rocketbalz head, 10.5 degrees. Feeling I needed more loft, Adam said he could add loft to the head, ultimately getting it to 12 degrees. He has since stated that increasing my driver loft is his finest piece of artwork in all of his custom golf club efforts, and it is totally invisible to anyone looking at the head. Weighted tape was added to the bottom of the Rocketbalz head as Adam felt it just needed a bit more weight. And when I asked about the tape, he said to leave it on.

The driver grip is an orange Lamkin grip with an extra wrap under the low hand. This club feels great when I pick it up. It’s an extension of my arms. My natural shot with a driver is a fade and right now I’m hitting a slice, but things are coming around. One of the things Bubba Watson says about shortening the driver is that you hit more balls in the middle of the face. That is certainly true, even with me! So as I fine tune my swing, doing the couple of things I need to do to get consistent with this club, I am having a blast. I am certain this will be a very dependable club for me and 1 of my favorites. It’s hard to put into words how great this club feels!

See you on #1 tee, ready to hit the big stick… Sam

Leave a Reply

