Junior Golf: CustomIrons For Slower Swing Speeds

imageIn today’s Monday Mulligan we will look at the bulk of my custom golf clubs, my irons 4-P. Strategically Adam helped me totally reconfigure my golf bag. His initial question asking me to justify the presence of every club in my bag led to some revealing observations.

My main iron set went from 4-A (A being a wedge of higher loft than a pitching wedge but less loft than a sand wedge, usually around 52-degrees). So I had 8 clubs, TaylorMade Rocketbalz. After talking with Adam we decided to go to 4-P, 7 clubs.

My previous bag was: driver that I basically never hit, 3-wood, 3-hybrid, 4-A, 56 and 60 degree wedges and putter, 14 clubs. My new custom bag is : driver which I love and am getting used to, 3-wood, 5-wood, 21-degree driving iron (3-iron loft), 4-P, 56-degree bent stronger to 54-degrees, 60-degree and putter, 14 clubs. The main reason for the new lineup is to better cover the gaps between my clubs. For my game and S3’s game for now, 3 wedges is adequate.

 

As I get used to these wonderful customized clubs there are a couple of scenarios which may play out. 1 is that as I get used to hitting my driver, how much will I use the 3-wood off the tee?Also how much will I hit our beloved Nike Ignite 5-wood as I learn to hit the driving iron?image

Ok, my Titleist 714CB Irons feel like an extension of my arms. I truly don’t believe I have ever had many, if any, clubs that feel as good and natural as all these clubs that Adam touched. The irons are a dream to hit. I’m still getting used to them, but once I loosen up on the range they really feel sweet. The shafts are KBS Tour which gives shot versatility with a mid-trajectory. All of the iron shafts were frequency matched, which basically means the flex runs constant throughout the set with no outliers, each weighing about 110 grams raw. All of the irons were MOI matched, which basically means that the amount of inertial force required is constant throughout the set as per Newton’s second law. This is really cool stuff!image

The grips are Lamkin and we put a second wrap of grip tape under my low (right) hand. These grips feel great! I went with Lamkin for 2 reasons: first we have never had a Lamkin grip on anything in our house so it is a good time to try them and second, when you go to the Lamkin website, there’s Arnold, Arnold Palmer on the home page. Well, Arnold is my all time favorite athlete and if he is a Lamkin spokesman, I’m trying them! I love these grips! The sensitivity and feel is excellent and having that extra wrap of tape under my low hand actually allows me to grip the club with my right hand more naturally and frankly, easier.

So the question is how am I hitting them? I hit some good shots, but I am still working on getting my swing back and getting used to these clubs at the same time. There’s quite a bit going on. The main criteria was to have a mid-trajectory 7-iron go 150-160 yards. Hopefully this will be the case. These irons are wonderful to swing and beautiful to look at.

See you on #1 tee ready to stick that approach shot right by the pin… Sam

 

Leave a Reply

