Junior Golf: Thanks Dad For The Memories

In this Wednesday Waggle we will take a moment to look at some history, Goldfarb Family history. This is San Antonio’s week to host our PGA Tour event, The Valero Texas Open, and the VTO has a very special significance in our family. Join us for some great memories.

img_0102-1

photocredit:golfdigest.com

When I was a kid growing up, going to school and playing golf, I knew my Dad was involved in a lot of civic activities, but really I had no idea how deeply he was participating in some of theses areas.

Golf is our family sport so there was always something golf happening in our world. It was so common and constant that I never looked at it as something special. Even when I was talking to Arnold Palmer after one of his rounds at Oak Hills in the 1960’s, I didn’t realize what a special moment that was. I mean, I was just a kid going along doing stuff that seemed pretty routine to me and in those days, Arnold was always hanging around visiting with folks and my Dad and Mom, and sometimes I were helping run the tournament. So at tournament time, we were always around the players. It was much more casual than it is now.

It also seemed natural that Dad was always holding some big office in SAGA, San Antonio Golf Association, like President, Tournament Director or Hospitality Director for the 1968 PGA Championship held here at the excellent Pecan Valley Country Club. He always had some position of serious responsibility.

image

photocredit:Green Jacket Auctions

I helped Dad set up the brackets for the State Junior Championship in the late 1960’s when Ben Crenshaw won it twice. I recall seeing Ben’s handwritten entries that were mailed in. As special as all this was, I didn’t understand it at the time. Makes for great memories though! Dad co-founded the State Junior (Championship), as it was then called, along with Brackenridge PGA professional Murray Brooks. Those 2 along with my Mom and a few friends ran this prestigious event for more than 25 years!

So how did we get to the VTO? It’s a long and interesting road that, like so many things, started with a vision many years ago. It was in 1938 that my Dad, Sam M Goldfarb Sr, and about a half-dozen other San Antonio businessmen formed the San Antonio Golf Association to provide support for the San Antonio golf community and to bring back the then defunct Texas Open, which they succeeded in doing.

So this week’s VTO with all the amazing on-course temporary construction, vendor’s booths, super-duper digital scoreboards and all the eye-popping visual treats of a major sporting event owes a debt of gratitude to those founders, those men of vision of 1938. Thanks Dad for everything! I love you!

See you on #1 tee with a heart of history and gratitude… Sam

Leave a Reply

