Junior Golf: You Got To Believe

In this Wednesday Waggle we will look at belief and how it can be used to positively impact your youngster’s golf game.

img_0102-1

Photocredit:Golf Digest

One definition of belief is: a trust, faith, or confidence in someone or something. Now before we got lost in all these words, let’s look at a few golf examples of belief.

In the last round of the recent Open Championship, Jordan Spieth managed to turn his final round from horrible-for him, to absolutely fabulous. How did he do this? In his words, once he and Matt Kuchar became tied, Jordan’s nerves disappeared and he was able to focus on hitting good shots and man did he! Belief!
In last week’s Canadian Open, Jhonny Vegas said, “I’ve had a horrible summer to put it the best way,” Vegas said. “But it’s golf, and you have to keep a positive mentality and always think that you’re going to play your best.” And he did that Sunday ultimately beating Charley Hoffman in a playoff.
A few years ago in the 2010 Masters, Phil Mickelson hit an incredible shot off of some pine straw, between 2 trees, over the creek and onto the green and continued on for a 3-shot Masters win. Belief!

image

Photocredit:Getty Images


Finally, Zack Johnson’s recap of a conversation with his Dad
from earlier in his career. To paraphrase, Zach said,”I want to win every tournament.” His Dad replied, “What is most important is that you believe you can win every tournament!” Believe, believe, believe.

So what does this have to do with your junior golfer? Well, depending on age and skill level your child must have a belief in something positive about his/her golf game.
I believe I can hit the ball on every shot.
I believe I can hit the ball in the air.
I believe I can play better than some of my friends.
I believe
I can make the golf team.
I believe I can earn the #1 spot on the golf team.
I believe I can make birdies.
I believe I can win a golf tournament.
And so it goes.

Have a talk with your kiddo. Be an encourager! Point out a nice shot he/she hit and complement it. Help them believe that there are many more excellent golf shots coming in the future. Your kids want to have fun and enjoy this great game. Believing that the next shot will be a good shot is very important and when your son/daughter does it, you will smile from ear to ear.

See you on #1 tee believing you can hit good shots… Sam

Leave a Reply

